How to Apply

This guidance contains important information to help with your application:

  • Please apply by submitting a CV and Covering Letter (no more than four sides of A4 in length per document aligned to the person specification). Please also include your contact details.
  • Please ensure your full employment history is outlined in your CV; and that where there are essential criteria, competencies and/or qualifications you make clear how you meet these. We may wish to verify this information during the recruitment process.
  • Please provide the details of two referees. Note that we will only approach referees for candidates proceeding to final selection and only with your permission. Please clearly indicate whether we can approach each referee before the selection date.
  • Please share with us in your supporting statement, the values and behaviours that you bring to your leadership, and how you will transfer your skills and experience into this role.
  • Please complete the Equal Opportunities Monitoring Form when you upload your details.
  • Please return your application by the closing date – no applications will be accepted once the long listing process has begun.
  • Following long listing, you will be contacted directly by a Penna consultant to update you on the status of your application.
  • At any point throughout the process our retained consultants at Penna will be happy to help you with information, insight and guidance about the process and our Councils.

The following timetables set out the key dates in the recruitment process for each of the roles:

*Please note all final stages will be face to face and will include stakeholder panels.

Executive Director Adults and Communities

Activity

Date

Closing date for applications

5th June

Longlist Meeting (Candidates are not required to attend)

8th June

Preliminary Interviews (Technical Interviews)

w/c 13th June

Shortlist Meeting (Candidates are not required to attend)

22nd June

Final Panel Interviews

11th July

 

Executive Director Children and Education

Activity

Date

Closing date for applications

5th June

Longlist Meeting (Candidates are not required to attend)

8th June

Preliminary Interviews (Technical Interviews)

w/c 13th June

Shortlist Meeting (Candidates are not required to attend)

23rd June

Final Panel Interviews

12th July

 

Director of Children and Families

Activity

Date

Closing date for applications

10th June

Longlist Meeting (Candidates are not required to attend)

16th June

Preliminary Interviews (Technical Interviews)

w/c 20th June

Shortlist Meeting (Candidates are not required to attend)

27th June

Final Panel Interviews

15th July

 

Director Assets Infrastructure and Property

Activity

Date

Closing date for applications

5th June

Longlist Meeting (Candidates are not required to attend)

15th June

Preliminary Interviews (Technical Interviews)

21st June

Shortlist Meeting (Candidates are not required to attend)

27th June

Final Panel Interviews

7th July

 

If you’re committed to a vibrant, diverse Bristol and would like to join a great team of talented professionals and use your experience and leadership to drive improvement, please contact our retained consultants at Penna for further information as detailed below: 

Executive Director Adults and Communities

Julie Towers - 07764 791736 or julie.towers@penna.com

Carol Coyle - 07500 887849 or carol.coyle@penna.com

Amin Aziz - 07709 514141 or amin.aziz@penna.com

Executive Director Children and Education

Dawar Hashmi - 07513 706265 or dawar.hashmi@penna.com

Kelly Ridley - 07709 512415 or kelly.ridley@penna.com

Amin Aziz - 07709 514141 or amin.aziz@penna.com

Director of Children and Education

Andrew Tromans - 07805 226301 or andrew.tromans@penna.com

Kelly Ridley - 07709 512415 or kelly.ridley@penna.com

Amin Aziz - 07709 514141 or amin.aziz@penna.com

Director Assets Infrastructure and Property

Ben Cox – 07809 374692 or ben.cox@penna.com

Rob Naylor - 07922 417550 or rob.naylor@penna.com



To apply for any of these roles, please click the link below:

https://execroles.penna.com/